Library Blog

Readalikes: When You Have to Wait to Read

July 20, 2017

How many times has this happened to you? You hear about a pretty awesome sounding book. You go to the library to see if it is in. It’s not (naturally). You decide to place a hold on the item. Then you casually ask how many holds exist on the item already, and discover that the […]

Read More

Talking with Evanston artist Melanie Deal

July 18, 2017

Melanie Deal is an Evanston artist who is the latest to be featured in our ongoing exhibition series Local Art @ EPL. Inspired by her fascination with grids, tessellations, and repeated shapes, Deal’s striking paper collage and mixed media works “reflect both the humdrum and the humor of everyday living” and are “influenced by a lifelong […]

Read More

Author Event: “Love, Africa: A Memoir of Romance, War, & Survival”

July 12, 2017

Evanston native Jeffrey Gettleman is a Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist who has served as the NY Times’ East Africa bureau chief for the past decade, and on Tuesday, July 25 he’ll visit EPL to discuss his excellent new book Love, Africa: A Memoir of Romance, War, and Survival. Passionate, eye-opening, and sometimes horrifying, Gettleman’s debut details how […]

Read More

Local Art @ EPL: Melanie Deal

July 6, 2017

We’re thrilled to welcome Melanie Deal as the next featured artist in our ongoing exhibition series Local Art @ EPL. Her exhibit Life on the Grid is currently on display on the 2nd floor of EPL’s Main Library where you can catch it through July 31st. Inspired by her fascination with grids, tessellations, and repeated […]

Read More

Equity and the Evanston Public Library Collections: Contemporary Fiction

June 8, 2017

Libraries nationwide have been reassessing their collections through the lens of diversity and equity.  As Julie Stivers and Sandra Hughes-Hassell wrote on the YALSA blog in 2015, ” focusing on diversity is not an extra facet of our job. It is central to what we do.” Evanston Public Library is no different but coming up […]

Read More

Local Art @ EPL: Edward Ravine

June 2, 2017

We are thrilled to welcome Edward Ravine back to the library for a brand-new Local Art @ EPL exhibit. After making his 2015 library debut, the Evanston painter has returned with Yield and Overcome – a fresh collection of gorgeous watercolors that embraces the words of the Tao Te Ching. Says Ravine, “To me it […]

Read More

Local Authors and Book Connections You May Not Know

May 25, 2017

Once in a while we here at Evanston Public Library like to highlight the local authors and legends that make it onto our shelves.  We particularly like it when we learn something new in the process.  The other day I received a very interesting email from a Professor of History at Texas Southern University.  She […]

Read More

Local Art @ EPL

May 16, 2017

We are thrilled to announce a special treat for our ongoing exhibition series Local Art @ EPL. Throughout May, we’re proudly showcasing the work of eleven talented artists from the Presbyterian Homes at Westminster Place in Evanston. The featured artists include Alvin Beatty, Carole Bergstraesser, Robert Buchanan, Gordon Guth, Jane LaRue, Marjorie McMonagle, Allen Oden, […]

Read More

MOMMY!!

May 10, 2017

Sunday is Mother’s Day and that can mean only one thing: Time to grab every irreverent book about moms off our shelf pronto. Sure, I could write up a list right now that’s comprised entirely of sweet goo, but my mom likes her literature with a little bite to it.  I bet yours does too. […]

Read More

Falconwatch 2017: One Egg, Two Eggs, Red Eggs, Blue Eggs

May 9, 2017

Actually, the eggs of the title here aren’t red or blue at all.  But they do exist and we here at the library are thrilled. As I may have mentioned in the past, our beloved peregrine falcon Nona, so accustomed to roosting and laying on our building every spring, did not show up this year.  […]

Read More

Today a reader, tomorrow a leader.