The Jo-Anne Hirshfield Memorial Poetry Awards

Stay tuned! For the 40th Anniversary of the Jo-Anne Hirshfield Memorial Poetry Awards in 2018, we’ll be doing something completely new in the fall. Change is good. But it means that we will not be taking poetry submissions this year.

In the meantime, enjoy reviewing the winners of the 2017 Jo-Anne Hirshfield Memorial Poetry Awards. 

poetry contest reader   poetry contest reader


Support Poetry
Your donation to the Jo-Anne Hirshfield Memorial Poetry Awards helps provide winning poets cash prizes, pays for our contest judges, who have included the Illinois Poet Laureate and a Pulitzer Prize winner, and other program expenses.

When you support poetry, you encourage literacy, foster emotional intelligence, and inspire our creative community.


Program of the Thirty-Ninth Annual Awards (2017)

poetry contest audience

    poetry contest audience

Today a reader, tomorrow a leader.

Translate »