Book Discussions for Adults

If you would like to hear authors discuss their books, sign up for our newsletter to learn about upcoming author events.


Join one of our many book groups!

Better Off Read Book Group 

The genres we read run the gamut from: graphic novels to science fiction, romance to westerns, memoirs to poetry. This group is enhanced by semi-regular virtual author visits and book-related excursions. For more information, contact Bridget Petrites at bpetrites@cityofevanston.org.


History Book Group 

This group discusses works of history in the broadest sense, including biographies, surveys, popular history, history of science and medicine, travel writing, etc., alternating between works on American history and books on international subjects. For more information, contact Jeff Garrett at jgarrett@cityofevanston.org.


Mission Impossible Book Group

Our reading program where we gather throughout the year to discuss challenging works by one author. The 2022/2023 Mission Impossible author is Naguib Mahfouz. For more information, contact Heather Ross at hross@cityofevanston.org.


Outside the Lines: A Graphic Novel Book Group

A graphic novel book club for teens (16+) and adults that focuses on graphic novels by or featuring: BIPOC, LGBTQ+, and other religious and ethnic minorities. For more information, contact Kellye Fleming at kfleming@cityofevanston.org.

  • Meeting Day & Time: Last Thursday of each month at 7:00 pm  |  Virtual
  • Upcoming Discussions: This Month & Next Month   

Readability Book Group 

A group for adults with disabilities and is run in conjunction with Center For Independent Futures.  For more information, contact Jeny Mills at jmills@cityofevanston.org.

  • Meeting Day & Time: Every Monday at 5:00 pm  |  Virtual
  • Upcoming Discussions: Contact Jeny Mills or Center For Independent Futures 

Science Fiction & Fantasy Book Group

This book group is devoted to reading and discussing speculative fiction.  The group members nominate and vote on our books throughout the year, and also share recommendations at our annual New Year, New Books meeting.  Check out our group blog at https://eplscififantasy.wordpress.com. For more information, contact Lorena Neal at lneal@cityofevanston.org.

  • Meeting Day & Time: First Wednesday of each month at 7:00 pm  |  Virtual
  • Upcoming Discussions: This Month & Next Month   

T-MAC Book Group 

Our focus is to read trans authors and build community.  The group is co-hosted with T-MAC (Transmasculine Alliance of Chicago) and is currently only open to afab (assigned female at birth) trans, GNC, non-binary, or questioning adults (18+). For more information, contact Katy Jacob at kjacob@cityofevanston.org.

  • Meeting Day & Time: Fourth Friday of each month at 6:30 pm  |  Virtual
  • Upcoming Discussions: This Month & Next Month   

True Crime Book Group

This book group meets monthly via Zoom to discuss a different true crime-related title. Past books have covered topics ranging from serial killers to art thieves to forensics and covered both modern to historical time periods. For more information, contact Katy Jacob at kjacob@cityofevanston.org.

  • Meeting Day & Time: Fourth Tuesday of each month at 7:00pm  |  Virtual
  • Upcoming Discussions: This Month & Next Month   

The Wider Net Book Group             

We discuss contemporary fiction (and occasionally non-fiction titles). For more information contact Bridget Petrites at bpetrites@cityofevanston.org.

  • Meeting Day & Time: Third Monday of the month at 7:00pm  |  Virtual
  • Upcoming Discussions: This Month & Next Month   

 

Today a reader, tomorrow a leader.

Translate »