Book Discussions for Adults

Upcoming Book Discussions:

If you would like to hear authors discuss their books, sign up for our newsletter to learn about upcoming author events.


Join one of our many book groups!

Better Off Read Book Group 

The Better Off Read Book Group discusses an array of titles. The genres we read run the gamut from: graphic novels to science fiction, romance to westerns, memoirs to poetry. For more information, contact Bridget Petrites at bpetrites@cityofevanston.org.

Meeting Times: Last Monday of each month at 6:30 pm


History Book Group 

The History Book Group meets to consider a work of history in the broadest sense, including biographies, surveys, popular history, history of science and medicine, travel writing, etc., alternating between works on American history and books on international subjects. For more information, contact Jeff Garrett at jgarrett@cityofevanston.org.

Meeting Times: First Monday of every other month at 7:00 pm


Mission Impossible Book Group

Mission Impossible is our reading program where we gather yearlong to discuss challenging works by one author. The 2021/2022 Mission Impossible author is Gabriel García Márquez. There are numerous day and evening group discussions that run from October – June, meeting monthly or every other month. For more information, visit www.epl.org/mission-impossible-book-group or contact Heather Ross at hross@cityofevanston.org.

Meeting Times: Numerous day and evening times


Outside the Lines: A Graphic Novel Book Group

Outside the Lines is a graphic novel book club for teens (16+) and adults that focuses on graphic novels by or featuring: BIPOC, LGBTQ+, and other religious and ethnic minorities. For more information, contact Kellye Fleming at kfleming@cityofevanston.org.

Meeting Times: Last Thursday of each month at 7:00 pm


Readability Book Group 

The Readability Book Group is a group for adults with disabilities and is run in conjunction with Center For Independent Futures.  For more information, contact Jeny Mills at jmills@cityofevanston.org.

Meeting Times: Every Monday at 5:00 pm

Science Fiction & Fantasy Book Group

The Science Fiction & Fantasy Book Group meets monthly, and is devoted to reading and discussing speculative fiction.  The group members nominate and vote on our books throughout the year, and also share recommendations at our annual New Year, New Books meeting.  Check out our group blog at https://eplscififantasy.wordpress.com. For more information, contact Lorena Neal at lneal@cityofevanston.org.

Meeting Times: First Wednesday of each month at 7:00 pm


TMAC Book Group 

TMAC Book Group invites trans people to read trans authors and build community.  The group is co-hosted with TMAC (Transmasculine Alliance of Chicago) and is currently only open to afab (assigned female at birth) trans, GNC, non-binary, or questioning adults (18+).   For more information, contact Pim Halka at phalka@cityofevanston.org.

Meeting Times: Fourth Friday of each month at 6:30 pm


True Crime Book Group

The True Crime Book Group meets every month to discuss a different true crime title. For more information, contact Katy Jacob at kjacob@cityofevanston.org.

Meeting Times: Fourth Tuesday of each month at 6:30 pm


The Wider Net Book Group 

The Wider Net Book Group meets monthly to discuss contemporary fiction (and occasionally non-fiction titles). For more information contact Heather Norborg at hnorborg@cityofevanston.org.

Meeting Times: Third Monday of the month at 7:00pm

Today a reader, tomorrow a leader.

Translate »