The 39th Jo-Ann Hirshfield Memorial Poetry Awards

Poetry is when an emotion has found its thought and the thought has found words.” – Robert Frost

Poetry encourages literacy, fosters emotional resilience, and builds community. We were proud to host the 39th Annual Jo-Anne Hirshfield Memorial Poetry Awards. This program has inspired and supported thousands of emerging poets over the past thirty-nine years.

Our judge this year was Susan T. Moss, author of two poetry books and president of Illinois State Poetry Society. The selected winners in each category receive a cash prize and read their work at a moving and inspiring awards ceremony on Sunday, April 23.

You can be part of this unique and enduring program by making a gift to support this program. Thank you and please enjoy the wonderful poems from this year’s winners.

Donate button2017 poetry awards2017 poetry awards2017 poetry awards

2017 poetry awards

2017 poetry awards

Today a reader, tomorrow a leader.

Translate »