Love to Everyone by Hilary McKay

Reviewed by:
Children , Young Adult

Love to Everyone by Hilary McKay

Title: Love to Everyone (The Skylark's War in the UK)
By: Hilary McKay
Published: 2018
Call #: J McKay. H

Hilary McKay has written a historical novel of WWI, with the endearing Clarry Penrose as main character. Clarry’s mother died in childbirth so she’s never known a mother’s love. But she loves her brother fiercely and loves her cousin Rupert in Cornwall whom she sees every summer. She’s determined to fend for herself and get an education, even though her father feels a life of dependence would be more respectable. Then war breaks out and Clarry is eventually called to unexpected and heartbreaking acts of heroism just to keep her family together. Startling, gorgeous, painful — one of 2018’s best books!

Perfect for fans of Louisiana’s Way Home by Kate DiCamillo, The War that Saved My Life by Kimberly Brubaker Bradley and Journey to the River Sea by Eva Ibbotson.

(This book is simultaneously published in the UK under the title The Skylark’s War.)

Share

Tags: ,

Today a reader, tomorrow a leader.