E.L.Doctorow Wins Gold

May 17, 2013

eldocThe 2013 gold medals for the arts given by the American Academy of Arts and Letters have been awarded to novelist E.L.Doctorow and sculptor Mark di Suvero. The medals have been awarded each year since 1909 to two American citizens, in two categories of the arts, for an entire body of work. Fiction winners in the past include Philip Roth, Saul Bellow, Isaac Bashevis Singer, Eudora Welty, and John Updike. Past sculpture winners have included Marin Puryear, Richard Serra, and Louise Bourgeois. Bob Dylan was inducted as an honorary member. Read the short NYT article here, and check the library catalog for works by Doctorow and Mark di Suvero.



Today a reader, tomorrow a leader.

Translate »