National Book Critics Circle Awards

March 10, 2011

The winners of the National Book Critics Circle Awards have just been announced:


Jennifer Egan, A Visit from the Goon Squad


Jonathan Franzen, Freedom

David Grossman, To the End of the Land, tr. by Jessica Cohen

Hans Keilson, Comedy in a Minor Key, tr. by Damion Searls

Paul Murray, Skippy Dies


C. D. Wright, One with Others: [a little book of her days]


Anne Carson, Nox

Kathleen Graber, The Eternal City

Terrance Hayes, Lighthead

Kay Ryan, The Best of It: New and Selected Poems


Isabel Wilkerson, The Warmth of Other Suns: The Epic Story of America’s Great Migration


Barbara Demick, Nothing to Envy: Ordinary Lives in North Korea

S.C. Gwynne, Empire of the Summer Moon: Quanah Parker and the Rise and Fall of the Comanches, the Most Powerful Indian Tribe in American History

Jennifer Homans, Apollo’s Angels: A History of Ballet

Siddhartha Mukherjee, The Emperor of All Maladies: A Biography of Cancer


Sarah Bakewell, How To Live: Or, A Life of Montaigne in One Question and Twenty Attempts at an Answer


Selina Hastings, The Secret Lives of Somerset Maugham

Yunte Huang, Charlie Chan: The Untold Story of the Honorable Detective and His Rendezvous with American History

Thomas Powers, The Killing of Crazy Horse

Tom Segev, Simon Wiesenthal: The Life and Legends


Darin Strauss, Half a Life


Kai Bird, Crossing Mandelbaum Gate: Coming of Age Between the Arabs and Israelis, 1956–1978

David Dow, The Autobiography of an Execution

Christopher Hitchens, Hitch-22: A Memoir

Rahna Reiko Rizzuto, Hiroshima in the Morning

Patti Smith, Just Kids


Clare Cavanagh, Lyric Poetry and Modern Politics: Russia, Poland, and the West


Elif Batuman, The Possessed: Adventures with Russian Books and the People Who Read Them

Terry Castle, The Professor and Other Writings

Susie Linfield, The Cruel Radiance: Photography and Political Violence

Ander Monson, Vanishing Point: Not a Memoir

Nona Balakian Citation for Excellence in Reviewing: Parul Sehgal

Ivan Sandrof Lifetime Achievement Award: Dalkey Archive Press

The National Book Critics Circle (NBCC), comprised of approximately 600 active book reviewers, “honors outstanding writing and fosters a national conversation about reading, criticism and literature.”  You can read more about the winners and finalists here.

~ Olivia M.


Today a reader, tomorrow a leader.

Translate »