"Sounds of Silence" lives forever

March 21, 2013

The Library of Congress has just released a list of 25 sound recordings that will be preserved for the long term. The song Sounds of  Silence, by Simonsimongarfunkel and Garfunkel, written just after the JFK assassination, is included along with such iconic recordings as Chubby Checker’s energetic The Twist,  the original cast album of South Pacific, Will Roger’s rendition of You Are My Sunshine, a speech by President Eisenhower, and Van Cliburn’s 1958 performance in Moscow at the Tchaikovsky International Piano Competition. The complete list of selections spans from 1918 to 1980 and represents nearly every musical and recording category. Billboard Magazine’s blog ran this article about the announcement.

Barbara L.


Today a reader, tomorrow a leader.

Translate »