Booker International Prize Finalists Announced

March 30, 2011

The finalists of the Man Booker International Prize have just been announced:

  • Wang Anyi (China)
  • Juan Goytisolo (Spain)
  • James Kelman (UK)
  • John le Carré (UK)
  • Amin Maalouf (Lebanon)
  • David Malouf (Australia)
  • Dacia Maraini (Italy)
  • Rohinton Mistry (India/Canada)
  • Philip Pullman (UK)
  • Marilynne Robinson (USA)
  • Philip Roth (USA)
  • Su Tong (China)
  • Anne Tyler (USA)

Hailing from eight countries, five of these distinguished authors are published in translation.  James Kelman previously won the annual Man Booker Prize for Fiction in 1994 for How Late It Was, How Late. Both John le Carré (A Month in the Country) and Rohinton Mistry (Such a Long Journey) were shortlisted for the Booker Prize in Fiction in 1980 and 1991 (respectively).

Although Mr. le Carré has stated that his name be withdrawn and “that his books should not be submitted for the annual prize to give less established authors the opportunity to win,” his name will not be removed from the list of finalists. You can read his statement here.

~ Olivia M.


Today a reader, tomorrow a leader.

Translate »