2014 Booker Prize Longlist Announced

July 23, 2014

Books On Shelf In BookshopThis year is the first time the Man Booker Prize, United Kingdom’s most prestigious literary award is celebrating authors of literary fiction “whether from Chicago, Sheffield or Shanghai.” Four American authors and one Irish-American writer are among the 13 finalists: Joshua Ferris for To Rise Again at a Decent Hour; Karen Joy Fowler for We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves; Siri Hustvedt for The Blazing World; Richard Powers for Orfeo and Joseph O’Neill for The Dog.  Other nominees include: Richard Flanagan (Australia), Howard Jacobson (Britain), Paul Kingsnorth (Britain), David Mitchell (Britain), Neel Mukherjee (Britain), David Nicholls (Britain), Ali Smith (Britain), Niall Williams (Ireland). The winner who will receive 50,000 pounds (about $85,000) will be announced in October. Read more in these articles from the NYT and NPR.


2013 Booker Prize Awarded to Eleanor Catton

October 16, 2013

16booker-articleLarge28-year old New Zealand author Eleanor Catton won the Man Booker Prize on Tuesday for her 848-page novel The Luminaries.  She is the youngest winner of the prestigious literary prize, and the second New Zealander (Keri Hulme won in 1985 for The Bone People) and will receive 50,000 pounds or about $80,000.  A murder mystery set in 19tKeri h century New Zealand, The Luminaries is “organized into 12 sections named for the signs of the Zodiac.” The Booker Prize, traditionally awarded annually to a novelist from Britain, Ireland or a Commonwealth country,  will be opened to Americans in 2014. Read more in today’s New York Times  and in this NPR article.


Will American authors be eligible for the Man Booker Prize in 2014?

September 16, 2013

titleReports have been circulating that the Man Booker Prize, which “aims to promote the finest in fiction by rewarding the best novel of the year written by a citizen of the United Kingdom, the Commonwealth or the Republic of Ireland,” may be open to U.S. authors next year for the first time. As expected, this news has come as a “shock” to many. Amidst the uproar, Iown Trewin, literary director of the Man Booker prizes, stated the following:

“There are going to be some changes to the rules of the Man Booker prize for fiction which have been in discussion for some while. The information which is currently in circulation is incomplete.”

Full details will be announced on September 18th. Until then, you can read more about the controversy here and here.


Man Booker Prize Shortlist Announced

September 10, 2013

novioletFinalists for the 2013 Man Booker Prize, Britain’s most prestigious literary award were announced this morning.  Open to writers from Britain, Ireland or one of the Commonwealth nations, the prize has been criticized in the past  as “either too popular or not readable enough.” This year’s shortlist includes the following six finalists:

We need New Names, by NoViolet Bulawayo
The Luminaries, by Eleanor Catton
Harvest, by Jim Crace
The Lowland, by Jhumpa Lahiri
A Tale for the Time Being, by Ruth Ozeki
The Testament of Mary, by Colm Tóibín

The winner, to be named on October 15 in London, will receive a cash prize of 50,000 pounds (or approximately $78,000). Read the full article here.


2013 Booker Prize Nominees

July 24, 2013

Colm Tóibín has been listed for the Man Booker prize for the third time, with The Testament of MaryThirteen diverse novels have been nominated for this year’s Man Booker prize, Britain’s most prestigious literary award. Robert MacFarlane, the chairman of judges, said the books “range from the traditional to the experimental, from the first century A.D. to the present day, from 100 pages to 1,000 and from Shanghai to Hendon.” The winner will be announced October 15. You can read more here. The nominated books are listed below:


Short List for Man Booker Prize Announced

September 6, 2011

Today the head judge released the short list for the Man Booker Prize, an award given to authors from “the Commonwealth, the Republic of Ireland or Zimbabwe.” (Taken from the award’s rules.) Six writers will compete for the honor, namely: Julian Barnes/The Sense of an Ending; Carol Birch/Jamrach’s Menagerie; Patrick deWitt/The Sisters Brothers; Esi Edugyan/Half Blood blues; Stephen Kelman/Pigeon English; A.D. Miller/ Snowdrops. The winner will be selected October 18 in London.

Shira S.

Booker International Prize Finalists Announced

March 30, 2011

The finalists of the Man Booker International Prize have just been announced:

  • Wang Anyi (China)
  • Juan Goytisolo (Spain)
  • James Kelman (UK)
  • John le Carré (UK)
  • Amin Maalouf (Lebanon)
  • David Malouf (Australia)
  • Dacia Maraini (Italy)
  • Rohinton Mistry (India/Canada)
  • Philip Pullman (UK)
  • Marilynne Robinson (USA)
  • Philip Roth (USA)
  • Su Tong (China)
  • Anne Tyler (USA)

Continue reading “Booker International Prize Finalists Announced”

Translate »