Andrew Carnegie Medals announced!

September 22, 2015

Each year the American Library Association awards one work of fiction and one work of nonfiction an Andrew Carnegie Medal. This year the longlists of both categories have been announced. Where are your gaps? Want to fill them? Then just click on the titles below and reserve your copies with EPL today! Continue reading “Andrew Carnegie Medals announced!”

2014 Carnegie Medals For Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction

July 1, 2014

goldfinchbully pulpitThe Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Fiction was awarded to Donna Tartt for her Pulitzer Prize-winning novel The Goldfinch. The award for nonfiction went to historian Doris Kearns Goodwin for The Bully Pulpit. The medals were presented at the American Library Association’s annual meeting in Las Vegas on Saturday. Each winner receives a $5,000 cash prize. Commenting on the importance of libraries during her childhood, Ms. Tartt said: “you can really change someone’s life by giving them the right book at the right time. All writers are readers before we write a word, so there’s a kinship and it’s very deep.” Ms. Goodwin also has fond memories of borrowing books from her childhood library, recalling how “libraries have been second homes for her throughout her career.” Other finalists for the medal were Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie’s Americanah  and Edwige Danticat’s Claire of the Sea Light  for fiction, and Nicholas A. Basbanes’ On Paper and Sherri Fink’s Five Days at Memorial for nonfiction. Read more in this Seattle Times article.


2013 Andrew Carnegie Medal Winners

July 2, 2013

Frankfurt Book Fair 2012Richard Ford and Timothy Egan have won this year’s Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence for the best fiction and non-fiction works.  Ford won for his  novel Canada which is narrated by the teen son of bank robbers. Egan won for his biography of photographer Edward Curtis Short Nights of the Shadow Catcher.  The medals were presented to the winners, who each won $5,000, by the American Library Association on Sunday. Both authors gave credit to libraries for making their work possible. You can read more here.


Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction Finalists

April 23, 2013

Canada-by-Richard-Ford-199x300The American Library Association announced its finalists for the second annual Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction yesterday. The three nominees  in fiction are Canada, by Richard Ford, The Round House, by Louise Erdrich, and This is How You Lose Her, by Junot Diaz; the three nominees in nonfiction are The Mansion of Happiness, by Harvard historian Jill Lepore,  the medical science thriller, Spillover: Animal Infections and the Next Human Pandemic, by David Quammen, and Timothy Egan’s Short Nights of the Shadow Catcher: The Epic Life and Immortal Photographs of Edward Curtis. The winners (one for each category) will be announced at ALA’s annual conference in Chicago June 30th. Founded in 2012, the award is co-sponsored by Booklist and ALA’s Reference and User Services Association (RUSA). Last year’s prizes went to Man Booker Award-winner Anne Enright for her novel The Forgotten Waltz and Pulitzer Prize winner Robert K. Massie for his biography of Catherine the Great. You can read more about the selections here.


ALA Announces New Prizes for Adult Books

March 7, 2012

This year, for the first time, ALA will present two literary prizes for adult works. The Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction will be awarded this June at the 2012 ALA Conference. Funded by the Carnegie Corporation of New York, “the awards will celebrate the best of the best and serve as a guide to help adults select quality reading material, making a real contribution to our country being a nation of readers,” said Molly Raphael, ALA President. Fifty titles are under consideration for the Carnegie Medals, drawn from last year’s Booklist Editors’ Choice and Reference and User Services Association’s (RUSA) Collection Development and Evaluation Section (CODES) Notable Books lists. The finalists will be announced in May. Librarian and NPR contributor Nancy Pearl will chair this year’s selection committee of “seven library professionals with expertise in adult literature.” You can read more about the awards here.

Translate »