2014 Edgar Awards

May 6, 2014

eapoeThe 2014 Edgar awards were presented last week in New York to honor best mystery writing in fiction, nonfiction, and television. William Kent Krueger’s novel Ordinary Grace, “about a man’s look back at the summer of 1961 in Minnesota”, won the award for best fiction. Other winners include The Hour of Peril: The Secret Plot to Murder Lincoln Before the Civil War by Daniel Stashower for best nonfiction; Red Sparrow by Jason Matthews for best first novel by an American author;  Wicked Girls by Alex Marwood for best paperback original; and episode one of The Fall by Allan Cubitt for best television teleplay. Read the rest of the NYT article here. You can see a complete list of winners and nominees at theedgars.com.


Mystery, Sci-Fi, and Cooking Awards Dished Out

May 26, 2011

Mystery, science fiction, and cooking fans have plenty to pore over this month as the Edgars (named after Edgar Allen Poe), the Nebulas, and the James Beard Foundation prizes were distributed to many hardworking authors.  These are all significant awards in their respective categories. Steve Hamilton won Best Novel for The Lock Artist and Chicagoan Sara Paretsky received a Grand Master award for overall achievement.  Connie Willis took the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America’s top prize for Blackout/All Clear, about time-travel lab workers who get stranded in WWII. And lastly, for the food/cooking area, one of my favorites, Andrew Colman won Best Cookbook of the Year for The Country Cooking of Ireland and in the Writing and Literature category Richard Sax took home the goods for “Save the Deli.” (He’s written an excellent cookbook on baking, Classic Home Desserts, that EPL owns.)

Shira S.

Translate »