The Hunger Games Read-a-Likes

Teen

The 5th Wave (Book One in The 5th  Wave Series)

Title: The 5th Wave (Book One in The 5th Wave Series)
By: Rick Yancey
Published: 2013

Cassie Sullivan, the survivor of an alien invasion, must rescue her young brother from the enemy with help from a boy who may be one of them.


Across the Universe (Book One in the Across the Universe Series)

Title: Across the Universe (Book One in the Across the Universe Series)
By: Beth Revis
Published: 2011

Teenaged Amy, a cryogenically frozen passenger on the spaceship Godspeed, wakes up to discover that someone may have tried to murder her.


Birthmarked (Book One in the Birthmarked Trilogy)

Title: Birthmarked (Book One in the Birthmarked Trilogy)
By: Caragh M O’Brien
Published: 2010

In a future world baked dry by the sun and divided into those who live inside the wall and those who live outside it, sixteen-year-old midwife Gaia Stone is forced into a difficult choice when her parents are arrested and taken into the city.


Blood Red Road (Book One in the Dustlands Trilogy)

Title: Blood Red Road (Book One in the Dustlands Trilogy)
By: Moira Young
Published: 2011

In a distant future, eighteen-year-old Lugh is kidnapped, and while his twin sister Saba and nine-year-old Emmiare trailing him across bleak Sandsea they are captured, too, and taken to brutal Hopetown, where Saba is forced to be a cage fighter until new friends help plan an escape.


Dark Life (Book One in the Dark Life Series)

Title: Dark Life (Book One in the Dark Life Series)
By: Kat Falls
Published: 2010

When fifteen-year-old Ty, who has always lived on the ocean floor, joins Topside girl Gemma in the frontier's underworld to seek and stop outlaws who threaten his home, they learn that the government may pose an even greater threat.


The Darkest Minds (Book One in The Darkest Minds Series)

Title: The Darkest Minds (Book One in The Darkest Minds Series)
By: Alexandra Bracken
Published: 2012

Sixteen-year-old Ruby breaks out of a government-run 'rehabilitation camp' for teens who acquired dangerous powers after surviving a virus that wiped out most American children.


Delirium (Book One in the Delirium Trilogy)

Title: Delirium (Book One in the Delirium Trilogy)
By: Lauren Oliver
Published: 2011

Lena looks forward to receiving the government-mandated cure that prevents the delirium of love and leads to a safe, predictable, and happy life, until ninety-five days before her eighteenth birthday and her treatment, when she falls in love.


Enclave (Book One in the Razorland Trilogy)

Title: Enclave (Book One in the Razorland Trilogy)
By: Ann Agguire
Published: 2011

In a post-apocalyptic future, fifteen-year-old Deuce, a loyal Huntress, brings back meat while avoiding the Freaks outside her enclave, but when she is partnered with the mysterious outsider, Fade, she begins to see that the strict ways of the elders may be wrong--and dangerous.


Feed

Title: Feed
By: M. T. Anderson
Published: 2002

In a future where most people have computer implants in their heads to control their environment, a boy meets an unusual girl who is in serious trouble.


The Knife of Never Letting Go (Book One in the Chaos Walking Trilogy)

Title: The Knife of Never Letting Go (Book One in the Chaos Walking Trilogy)
By: Patrick Ness
Published: 2008

Pursued by power-hungry Prentiss and mad minister Aaron, young Todd and Viola set out across New World searching for answers about his colony's true past and seeking a way to warn the ship bringing hopeful settlers from Old World.


Little Brother

Title: Little Brother
By: Cory Doctorow
Published: 2008

After being interrogated for days by the Department of Homeland Security in the aftermath of a major terrorist attack on San Francisco, California, seventeen-year-old Marcus, released into what is now a police state, decides to use his expertise in computer hacking to set things right.


Matched (Book One in the Matched Trilogy)

Title: Matched (Book One in the Matched Trilogy)
By: Ally Condie
Published: 2010

The Society dictates everything: when and how to play, where to work, where to live, what to eat and wear, when to die, and most importantly to Cassia as she turns 17, who to marry. When she is Matched with her best friend Xander, things couldn't be more perfect. But why did her neighbor Ky's face show up on her match disk as well?


The Maze Runner (Book One in the Maze Runner Series)

Title: The Maze Runner (Book One in the Maze Runner Series)
By: James Dashner
Published: 2009

Sixteen-year-old Thomas wakes up with no memory in the middle of a maze and realizes he must work with the community in which he finds himself if he is to escape.


Nation

Title: Nation
By: Terry Pratchett
Published: 2008

After a devastating tsunami destroys all that they have ever known, Mau, an island boy, and Daphne, an aristocratic English girl, together with a small band of refugees, set about rebuilding their community and all the things that are important in their lives.


Today a reader, tomorrow a leader.