2014 Hugo Awards

August 18, 2014

ancillaryAmerican author Ann Leckie is the recipient of this year’s Hugo Award, science fiction’s highest honor, for her debut novel Ancillary Justice. Ms. Leckie’s book, “narrated by the artificial consciousness of a starship”, has won other major sci-fi awards, including the Nebula and Arthur C Clarke awards and the British Science Fiction Association award. NPR’s Genevieve Valentine wrote: “Ancillary Justice is an absorbing thousand-year history, a poignant personal journey, and a welcome addition to the genre.” The Hugo award is named after Hugo Gernsback who founded the science fiction magazine Amazing Stories and coined the word science fiction. Other winners of this year’s award include Equoid by Charles Stross and The Water That Falls on You from Nowhere by John Chu. You can read more about this prestigious award and see the full list of winners here.


To Boycott, Or Not To Boycott?

November 8, 2013

ImageEnder’s Game, by Orson Scott Card, is considered one of the classics of science fiction.  It has appeared near the top of any comprehensive list of the best of sci-fi and fantasy since it was originally published, in 1985.  It is the winner of both the Hugo and Nebula awards, the highest honors in the genre.  And yet, the long-delayed release of the film version of Ender’s Game has been accompanied by controversy and threats of boycott.

Continue reading “To Boycott, Or Not To Boycott?”

2013 Hugo Award Winners

September 3, 2013

John Scalzi wins the 2013 Hugo award for best novel with Redshirts.The winners of this year’s Hugo Awards for science fiction were announced Sunday, September 1st in San Antonio, Texas. The winner for the Best Novel went to Red Shirts: A Novel with Three Codas, by John Scalzi. Other awards went to: The Emperor’s Soul, by Brandon Sanderson, The Girl-Thing Who Went Out for Sushi (from Edge of Infinity), by Pat Cadigan, and Mono no Aware (from The Future is Japanese), by Ken Liu. The Hugos, named after the founder of the science fiction magazine Amazing Stories, have been awarded since 1955 and are voted on by the public. You can read more about the ceremony here.


Translate »