When the Travel Section Starts to Look Peaky

June 20, 2018

It’s that time of year again. That time when the Travel section of the library starts to look a little picked over. When I took over the Travel books three years or so ago I immediately weeded out everything that was more than 3 years old. That just makes good clean sense. The last thing […]


Dead Dead Dead Dead Dead

May 11, 2018

I have a toy. A fun toy. A toy that gives my little librarian heart a hop, skip, and a jump whenever I get to use it. The name of my toy? Collection HQ. It’s a program that allows me to see exactly how well the books in my library do or do not do […]


Reading Black

February 2, 2018

Black History Month is here. For many libraries and bookstores, this means pulling together large displays of black authors, black subject matter, black history, etc. But as many have pointed out, this month often turns out to be the only time these books are ever highlighted. Indeed some libraries and bookstores outright refuse to create […]



New Year’s Resolutions – So Far So Good

January 3, 2018

The life of a librarian is a seasonal affair. Spring means books about gardening, planting, and planning vacations. Summer means lots of books for kids out of school. In fall the cookbooks start flying off the shelves (to say nothing of the knitting titles). And winter? Well, that depends on what time of year you’re […]


Holiday Gift Giving Suggestions from the Staff of EPL

December 6, 2017

If the people that work at Evanston Public Library know one thing, it’s how to recommend a book. Now I’m sure you’ve all already seen EPL’s magnificent 101 Great Books for Children list, produced just the other day. The list has been a great success (pick up a physical copy in the library today!), so […]


Announcing the Debut of Evanston Public Library’s 101 Great Books for Kids List (2017)

November 17, 2017

Welcome to the 2017 edition of Evanston Public Library’s 101 Great Books for Kids! Just in time for the holiday season this list provides books of mystery, science, poetry, hilarity, sorrow, and more. There’s bound to be something perfect for the child in your life. This year’s list contains books chosen by our librarians from […]


NaNoWriMo – National Novel Writing Month

November 8, 2017

It only comes but once a year. Every November people all around the world buckle down and take to heart that sage advice from author Jane Yolen on how to write. Put simply: “Butt + chair.” Yes, November is National Novel Writing Month or, for short, NaNoWriMo (which, let us be perfectly frank, is far […]


Fun With Solar Eclipses: See What You Can Before the Lights Go Out

August 16, 2017

Library book displays are a struggle. A real hassle, honestly. You want to make them interesting, highlight books in your collection that don’t go out enough, while at the same time having enough books to replace those that are checked out. You also need to have topics of interest. One of the great shocks of […]


Readalikes: When You Have to Wait to Read

July 20, 2017

How many times has this happened to you? You hear about a pretty awesome sounding book. You go to the library to see if it is in. It’s not (naturally). You decide to place a hold on the item. Then you casually ask how many holds exist on the item already, and discover that the […]